The History of The Elimination Chamber

A history’s of WWE’s Elimination Chamber match.

Post Comment|1 Liked It

WWE Elimination Chamber will take place on February 20th 2011. The Elimination Chamber match has had a storied history over the years. The circular cage with a chain link fence, metal floor, and glass pods is one of the most brutal matches in WWE history.

2002 at the Survivor Series featured the World Heavyweight Championship on the line, when Triple H defended his belt against Chris Jericho, Booker T, Rob Van Dam, Kane, and Shawn Michaels. The battle came down to Shawn Michaels and Triple H, with Shawn Michaels winning the World Heavyweight Title. This would lead to a full time comeback for Michaels, who had be out of the ring for the past four years, only returning for what was then supposed to be a one off at Summerslam 2002.

2003 at Summerslam was Triple H once again defending his World Heavyweight Title against Shawn Michaels, Randy Orton, Chris Jericho, Kevin Nash, and Goldberg. Many fans rooted for Goldberg to win, but after Goldberg ran through the competitors, he met Triple H and his sledgehammer. Triple H kept the World Heavyweight Title, much to the displeasure of many men.

2005 at New Year’s Revolution would had the next Elimination Chamber. The World Heavyweight Title was vacated due to a controversial decision. Triple H, Batista, Randy Orton, Chris Jericho, Chris Benoit, and Edge all battled to become the World Heavyweight Title with Shawn Michaels as the special guest referee. Triple H won the World Heavyweight Champion, beating Randy Orton to win. This would also set up the inevitable Batista and Triple H match at Wrestlemania 21.

2006 had two Elimination Chamber matches. John Cena retained the WWE Championship against Chris Masters, Carlito, Kane, Kurt Angle, and Shawn Michaels in the first Elimination Chamber Match at New Year’s Revolution 2006. Then Edge cashed in on his Money in the Bank briefcase, beating Cena. The second Elimination Chamber match was an Extreme Elimination Chamber Match at ECW December to Dismember 2006, with Bobby Lashley triumphing over Test, the Big Show, Hardcore Holly, Rob Van Dam, and CM Punk to win the ECW Championship. Many consider this match to be the least of the Elimination Chamber Matches.

2007 would not have an Elimination Chamber Match. However, 2008 would begin the tradition where there would be Elimination Matches at the February Pay Per View, then known as No Way Out. The Undertaker earned a World Heavyweight Championship Match beating Batista, MVP, The Great Khali, Big Daddy V, and Finlay in the Smackdown Elimination Chamber Match. Then in the RAW Elimination Chamber Match, Triple H got a WWE Championship match, beating Jeff Hardy, Umaga, JBL, Chris Jericho, and Shawn Michaels.

2009 at No Way Out was a big night for Edge. Edge lost the WWE Championship in the Smackdown Elimination Chamber, losing to Triple H. Also involved in this match, The Big Show, Jeff Hardy, The Undertaker, and Vladimir Koslov. Then Edge wiped out Kofi Kingston to take his place in the RAW Elimination Chamber, to beat John Cena, Rey Mysterio, Chris Jericho, Kane, and Mike Knox. The Chamber ended with an impressive sequence between Edge and Shawn Michaels.

2010 had No Way Out renamed to Elimination Chamber featured John Cena winning the RAW Chamber and the WWE Championship, beating defending champion Sheamus, along with Randy Orton, Kofi Kingston, Ted DiBiase, and Triple H. Then Cena, much like in 2006, was promptly beaten by Batista in an impromptu match afterwards. Then Chris Jericho beat the Undertaker, R-Truth, John Morrison, Rey Mysterio, and CM Punk.

2011 will continue that legacy and the road to Wrestlemania will go on.

More at the Wrestling Enterprise Blog.

Tags: , , , ,
Post Comment
comments powered by Disqus