Founders ‘16k (Inc. State 16k Road Championship.) Wa Australia 1984

The State 16 Km road Championship and the Founders 16 Km road race in WA.1984.

Post Comment|2 Liked It

Image by jemasmith via Flickr

Peter Taylor ran quite superbly to win his second Founder’s race in very good time of 50.08.4. Greg Sullivan was a very narrow second in 50.08.7 with the next four athletes breaking fifty one minutes. Previous best times by W.A. based runners over this course have been 47.19.6 by Robert De Castella and 49.04.8 by Graham Clews.

Rae Martin won the women’s section in 61.01 from Jill Chambers in 61.18 and Jackie Baxendine in 61.28. Past winners in the Founders 10 (miles) have been Dick Martin, Clive Hicks, Alan Acreman, Mike Berry, Vic. Thrussel, Gary Clark, Jeff Joyce and John Gilmour. Quite an illustrious bunch.

Organisationally the raced was marred by conflicting advertised starting times in the WAMC and WA AA calenders. Once this was sorted out the event went very smoothly with 210 runners finishing the 16K and 53 the 8K  event. The success of the race was in no small measure , due to the efforts of : Priscilla Joyce, Carol Van Weert, Max Van Weert, Malcolm Everson, Jan Braid, Steve Barrie, Brian Wainright, Peter Rae, Tom Delaney, John McGuire, John Ferris, and Michael Barry.

Thanks to these officials all of whom volunteered to help out.

I hope you all like my story and let me know  what you think of it.

George Thomas Saviel

01 July 2010

Post Comment
comments powered by Disqus